28 February 2018

Hannah Stockley


England Korfball is delighted to announce that the nominations process for this year’s Awards is now open.

We have a number of awards that we present to recognise the hard work and dedication that goes into supporting our brilliant sport. Volunteers are essential in sport – Korfball is no exception. Hundreds of volunteers keep the game running within clubs and Local Area Association.

In recent years, some of these awards have not been handed out. It was agreed at the 2017 Annual General Meeting that a process would be put in place for nominations to ensure awards were handed out.

Following approval from the England Korfball Board, it was agreed that a formal nominations process would be put in place to allow members and Board members to nominate individuals for each award. A nominations panel will meet after the close of the nominations window to decide the winners. This panel will consist of an Independent Board Member, a Non-Independent Board Member, and an external panellist.

The awards will be presented to the winners at this year’s #KorfballFinals at the Copper Box Arena on Sunday 13th May.

We all know someone who gives their time and commitment to grow and develop korfball in England, so let’s give them the recognition they deserve!

There are four awards on offer:

The Jan Hanekroot Award (Lifetime Achievement Award):

Presented for outstanding service over many (usually 15+) years, making a major contribution to korfball in England during that time.

The Marion Atkinson Award of Honour:

Given to a person or couple who has/have given outstanding service to korfball over a long period (usually 10+ years).

The Graham Crafter Award of Distinction:

Given to someone who has given excellent service to the Korfball in England over a few years (usually 5+) but a shorter period of time than would be necessary for one of the other awards.

Certificate of Merit

Given to someone who has given meritorious service to the sport (nationally, to an area, or to a club) over a short period of time.

To nominate someone for an award, simply complete this short form by Friday 30th March.