13 March 2019

Dean Woods


University of Sheffield win BUCS National Championships

The University of Sheffield are the 2019 British Universities & Colleges Sport (BUCS) Korfball champions, winning the title for a record equalling 7th time in their history.

Sheffield beat the University of East Anglia 15-12 in the final which took place at the UEA Sportspark on Sunday 3 March.

Sheffield’s winning squad:

Back row: Ben Shreeve (manager), George Kite, Matthew Woodhouse, Jordan Singh, Michael Hamley, Marko Amezaga-Kutija, Travis Tang. 

Front row: Alana Grundy, Emma Kerrigan, Sara Laszkowska, Chezi Coughlan, Mem Swanborough, Asha Vickers

Nottingham University were victorious in their match against Kent University to win the Bronze medal.

Marcus Tighe from Nottingham University and Lizzie Tighe from Bristol University were voted the tournament’s male and female Most Valuable Player awards. Congratulations!!

Final Placings:

  1. Sheffield University
  2. University of East Anglia
  3. Nottingham University
  4. Kent University
  5. Southampton University
  6. Oxford University
  7. University of Bedfordshire
  8. Sheffield Hallam University
  9. Cardiff University
  10. Manchester University
  11. Edinburgh University
  12. Exeter University
  13. Birmingham University
  14. Leeds University
  15. Strathclyde University
  16. Bristol University