8 June 2021

Dean Woods


Jennifer Szczepaniak-Sloane selected as a finalist for the UK Coaching Hero Awards  2021!

Jennifer Szczepaniak-Sloane from Manchester Korfball Club has been selected as a finalist in the UK Coaching Hero Award. Congratulations Jennifer!

The public vote for the UK Coaching Hero Awards is now open. Visit UK Coaching to cast your vote.

Voting closes at 12pm on Monday 14 June.

The UK Coaching Awards is a unique opportunity for the sport and physical activity industry to honour and reward the work of #GreatCoaching

From nearly 500 public nominations, 75 coaches across the UK have been shortlisted as finalists for the awards initiative, which recognises and celebrates the innovations and achievements of coaches who inspired the nation to keep moving during the coronavirus lockdowns.

During UK Coaching Week (7-13 June), the British public can vote for their favourite coach to give them the best chance of being awarded for the considerable differences they made to people’s mental and physical well-being.

UK Coaching Director of Coaching Emma Atkins, said: 

“Many congratulations to all our finalists and to the hundreds of other coaches who were nominated. Each of your stories were incredibly inspiring and showed how invaluable you are to your communities.

“The work of great coaches, changes lives. And that is what you’ve done over the past 12 difficult months. You have brought people together through sport and physical activity sessions, whether online or one-to-one, and provided connections and support.

“These awards, hopefully, go a little way in recognising our finalists’ achievements and sacrifices and gives the public an opportunity to read their stories – that is, the stories of coaches from 65 different places around the UK and representing nearly 40 sports and activities, who answered a call to keep people and communities healthy and happy during a pandemic. We’re indebted to your commitment to person-centred coaching.”

Voting is open until midday on Monday, 14 June. Votes will then be counted and winners announced at a ceremony in September.


You can vote (for Jennifer) here