2 February 2020

Dean Woods


British Universities & Colleges Sports (BUCS) Korfball Nationals

Thanks to the record high numbers of students playing korfball across the country the British Universities & Colleges Sports (BUCS) korfball championships continue in its expanded format this season to allow more teams the opportunity to take part.

This season the competition started with the preliminary rounds in November and December 2019, which were then followed by a set of regional rounds in January and February 2020.

Teams are then ranked based on their performance at the regionals and qualify through to either the National Championship, National Trophy or National Plate which all take place during March 2020.

The Plate will take place on 7-8 March in Manchester, the Trophy will be played in Sheffield on 14 – 15 March and the National Championships (the finals)  will take place on 21 – 22 March at UEA Sportspark at the University of East Anglia in Norwich, Norfolk.

Last year the University of Sheffield won the title for a record equalling 7th time in their history beating the University of East Anglia 15-12 in the final of the National Championships. Can the University of Sheffield retain their title this year? Find out on 22 March!

National Championships
21 – 22 March 2020 at UEA, Sportspark, Norwich, NR4 7TJ

National Trophy
14 – 15 March 2020 at All Saints Sports Centre, Sheffield, S2 2RU

National Plate
7 – 8 March 2020 at Armitage Sports Centre, Manchester, M14 6PA

 2018-19 Winners; National Championships

  1. Sheffield University
  2. University of East Anglia
  3. Nottingham University
  4. Kent University
  5. Southampton University
  6. Oxford University
  7. University of Bedfordshire
  8. Sheffield Hallam University
  9. Cardiff University
  10. Manchester University
  11. Edinburgh University
  12. Exeter University
  13. Birmingham University
  14. Leeds University
  15. Strathclyde University
  16. Bristol University